It’s Time For Africa!

Over the course of the Olympics, the Motherland came to London as Kensington Gardens in Hyde Park hosted Africa Village – a showcase of African treasures and talents from Egypt down to Angola.

Across two weeks, 80,000 visitors were treated to displays of Africa’s finest art through performances and stalls alike.

Unfortunately, the village had to close a little earlier than planned. If you didn’t get a chance to visit Africa Village, these pictures should give you a taste of the cultural atmosphere.

Africa Village was organised by the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa

Some printed scarves on sale at the Cameroon stall

Some cool Cameroonian tourism posters

T-shirts!

It’s like being at a market!

One of my favourite pieces

Some pretty Cameroonian beads

The Libya stall

On each day the Village was open, each participating country put on a series of performances. My friends and I attended on Ivory Coast day and were treated to some live Ivorian music

Ethiopia

The Congo

Togo

Love these bags!

Morocco

I could just live here!

Well, this is still a fashion blog lol. It was pretty warm so I wore a burgundy crop top from Topshop and some Levi cut-offs from Urban Outfitters. But this is still London, so I kept the wind at bay with a shirt-jacket from River Island and some tights. I completed the outfit with some colour-coordinated burgundy and grey Vans.

It was also the day of the Olympic Men’s Triathlon, which partly took place at Hyde Park, so my friends and I showed our support for Team GB with a splash of body paint. We won both the gold and the bronze medal that day. Coincidence? I think not :p

This lovely gentleman wrote my name in Arabic at the Morocco stand…

…and it just cost me a smile 🙂

Had a bit of a go myself 🙂

Rwanda

Wish I had this doll growing up

An array of fashion at the Nigerian stall

A Nigerian work of art

My name in Arabic has since made it to my bedroom wardrobe display. It got a tad creased and smudged in my backpack but I still love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

